Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-07-02

4:37 p.m.

Yesterday I had to take a long walk in the steaming outdoors to fill out some paperwork at the other end of campus. I noticed a few interesting items and juxtapositions that made me ache for my lomo. I used to have the little bugger attached to me but it's broken down and used now.

Good thing D has one - I packed it in my bag before I left for work this morning. He is very kind and generous so I am sure he doesn't mind.

I took the long way to the Epicuris Restaraunt at about twenty to one. I know exactly what time I set out since some ruffians at the bus stop on cass and canfield asked for the time. I should have known that wearing lavandar is the same as saying "talk to me" to everyone you encounter. Plus it is quite flattering on my abnormaly pale summer chemo skin.

I whipped out the lomo to capture the most grotesque burned out car I have seen in all of my young years galavanting in the city. Someone really torched the thing independence-day-MSU-basketball- winning style. It looked completely melty. The interior had an overall wet appearance which is hard to obtain in the hot city sun on all that concrete.

I was interupted by a nice lady looking for the traffic jam . I gave her quick directions and wondered why someone would talk to a person crawling around a burnt out car. Lavander and a camera. It says artsy and accessable.

I tried to lean in as close as my guts could stand to get a good shot of the absolutely fascinating rearview mirror that was half-broken half-melted. The two pieces were held together by some sticky gooey substance. Unreal. That was when the cop, a city cop I think since they seem to have aquired a new fleet of forest green cars, the cop asks me "Is that your car?"

"Hell no, mutha" I said and packed the camera away to look for scene two from yesterday. I was insulted that officer nothing better-to-do saw I was wearing lavander but still asked me if that was my car. Lavander exudes intellence and I would have alerted the proper athorities if that were my car skeleton. After all, it was there yesterday. Can I help it if I wished it would still be there today and it was? Pig probably wanted to arrest me for that too.

Plus, after getting real close to that burnt out car on a that high-traffic street I came to the conclusion that the owner of that car skeleton was most defeinately not liked by someone.

Luck was on my side since the second car I wanted to snap was on the same street as it was yesterday. Different parking spot though. Someone wrote a note and taped it to both of the back windows that instructed passers-by to not smash in the windows since it had already happened two times in one month. Detroit, your friendly neighbor.

After my gyro purchase I was suprised by a third example of D-City living and snapped a few shots of a newly smashed front of the Christian Science Journal building (I think that's the building). D and I share a similar fascination with smashed glass in the city. There seems to be a lot of it. I think it is social resistance to development and D thinks it is a symbol of opposition to intact glass.

Those unexpected shots delayed my lunch since I had to explain to the woman who rushed out of the building that I was not from the insurance company or the police or any affilaite. If I would have acted like a true journalist I would have shook her down for some info or at least found out about how she and the Christian Scientist felt about smashed glass. I think she would have opened up with my lavendar shirt and all...

Such a hot and odd afternoon walk. Usually I don't get much more attention than the rive by whistle. I didn't get any of those today since the heat makes the bum perspire and I am not wearing pants tha accomadate the situation very well so when I stand up I get "perma-ass-sag" and it's not real cute. Lavander isn't for drive by admiration either.

2002-07-02

9:04 a.m.

Michigan heat wave. It is no joke. Nobody is pulling your leg. Well, they couldn't since it's probably all greezy and sweaty and if someone were to pull on it their hands would slip right off.

I have been trying to stick to minimal exposure to the 99% humidity and 100 degree heat by traveling from air conditioning to air conditioning.

This is the first summer I have a car with special features such as air conditioning and power steering. It is a bit of a cruel twist of fate though that if I do not turn off my AC long before I turn off my car I stir up some populous of fungi that rest after the AC has been on. So the next time I start my car it smells of animal piss.

This has been a problem since it is so hot it makes no difference if the windows are down or up in my car. So I roll 'em down and wait for a while until the fans blow the squirrel piss smell off the vents. I try not to inhale too much, but the outdoor air is so thick and still there doesn't seem to be much of an alternative to pest piss.

I am going to start studying the breed of people who are anti-air conditioning. I know a few that view it as a modern day bourgeoisie luxury and a sign of human weakness. The same people also have a hard time upholding any semblance of fashion or cleanliness through july and august. Nevertheless, these people are out there. I am putting them on my list of populations to study instead of doing the work I get paid for.

Also on the list: rockabilly fans and other similar types that inflict limited musical selection on themselves through fashion and lifestyle, couples and singles who dress in sports wear to push shopping carts at target, drivers who stay in the merging lane pre-construction until the last possible minute and I am also looking at population views of Mongolian Barb-e-q and the Olive Garden as ethic food restaurants.

2002-07-01

10:39 a.m.

Not only will I be celebrating the great birth of this independent nation this week, I will be marching in for chemotherapy treatment number three (of eight) this wednesday. The treatment will most likely render me useless for hotdogs and blackcats on the fourth but I'll see if I can celebrate. No big whoop - the nation is on terror alert anyhow .

On the radio this morning, Colin Powell instructed me (well he said all americans) to be on high alert for any suspicious activity. On my ride to work this morning a man in a white ford f-150 kept crossing the yellow dotted line and it made me very nervous. Also, I have seen suspiscous fitness walkers in my neighborhood and teen fashion nowadays is totally suspicious since they are retroing retro.

One can see, I am a wreck. I am worried about our nations security while at the same time I think Powell making me feel like I can do something is cruel. Maybe an American Flag on my car will help.

National security is a large burden when one is trying to deal with a life-threatening illness. Maybe I should set that aside since no one seems to be concerned about taking one the real burden of national health care.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!