Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-06-28

4:04 p.m.

I worked a combined total of seven hours this week. I don't see how I am going to do overseas travel on this new "cancer budget".

I bought new short-pants this week and wore them for four days straight. No wash. The fit was kinder by late afternoon day two anyhow. They were worth ignoring those pesky bills for one more week for sure.

I don't think sick people should have to worry about money. At the very least they should be given new short-pants if that makes them feel better.

This is a good lead in to current event topics like Martha Stewart. Who would have thought - "greed, it's a good thing" - she should be forced to spend all of her money supplimenting the neglected fashion needs of cancer patients as punishment.

2002-06-26

10:04 a.m.

Some time ago when I used to watch the late show in order to put off undergraduate homework until well after midnight, I saw a man on the tonight show that had eaten a hot dog everyday for as long as he can remember.

He was over 80 years old. He said that he didn't mind having the same thing for dinner for his entire life. I think he prefered "ball parks" and that the company was honoring him with some weenie award. Probably filling out his hot dog supply for the rest of his years.

I have been thinking about old people a lot lately and how amazing it is that humans can weather so much tragedy and stress. Even everyday life is enough to wear a person down let alone a serious trauma or illness. Now everytime I see an old folk I look at them like I am seeing a freakin red-winged blackbird in my backyard.

And to think that man ingested baby- jesus-only-knows-in-a-meat-casing for 80 years. I have been thinking about him a lot the past week. I think the same late show also featured someone who had twinkies everyday, once a day, for life. No health problems.

If life is so fragile how can it be sustained on hot dogs?

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!