Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2003-06-12

3:21 p.m.

As an aspiring screenwriter I like to take notice in the subtle intonations of peoples voices and the quiet-yet-blaring subtext of their content.

I was blessed with a fun exercise in both tone and content by a lengthy voicemail from a very � well � I can only guess � shall I say �navy� real estate agent. She is showing the house that I am watching and I unfortunately have to field calls from these people. I really thought it would be no sweat.

I received and responded to four phone calls yesterday in order to tell these real estate people that Thursday (today) was a very bad day, bad all around for practical and personal reasons. This has been the only day I refused to comply with Real Estate Cheryl�s request. It is probably the only day that I will ever have to say no.

But this morning I got a nice, long instructive message about how house showings work and how poor Cheryl hasn�t been able to show the house AT ALL since I have been IMPOSSIBLE to deal with and she just might have to contact the landlord to see WHAT THE PROBLEM IS.

Now, I ask why would I care if this woman who is probably well, again, a real estate agent with warmed-over middle age looks and conflicted with a strong desire to follow Dr. Phil�s way of living but these renters make it so hard to get commission so she is forced to resort to passive aggressive bitchery and pull her meek real estate power levers when she can� Why do I care?

I dunno but her TONE pissed me off. Not to mention she was making stuff up just to add to her own dramatic impact. And I think that really hit home. Because I don�t like cheap drama, Cheryl. I don�t like cheap navy suits and I don�t like your half-ass veiled attempt to show me you can barge into the place whenever you want. But, alas it is I the lowly house sitter that is standing the way of Cheryl�s commission so what else could she do but try to wow me with legal speak or talk down to me?

I don�t like real estate agents and I don�t like landlords and because of Cheryl I had to talk to both today and I don�t even give a fuck.

But see, I do. And why?

I am keeping in mind that my buddy ol pal D doesn�t want to come home to an eviction notice so I have tried to stay calm and resist the several (very creative) ideas I had to make Cheryl�s life miserable.

And then I remember that she is a real estate agent. I just smile and think of Annette Benning in �American Beauty� (a movie as miserable as the profession).

It�s funny too because when I talked to S just a bit ago she was all cranksta because some random woman had given her an earful this morning too! It�s raining bitches and hos! What is up with people? The worst part is how it clings onto you � the injustice of being at the brunt end of someone�s irrational misplaced bitchery.

Good luck Cheryl, good luck mean lady in parking lot, good luck to you all.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!