Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-12-31

2:49 p.m.

Unlike the occasional bad day I don�t like to scrap entire years from my memory but 2002 wouldn�t be a bad one to forget.

A year ago on New Year�s day I was attacked in my own apartment by a complete stranger, repeat criminal and all-around jerk-off. Since then I can�t say things got much brighter. About three months later, after the initial crippling wave of post traumatic stress calmed to a manageable level, I got a friendly call from a no-nonsense surgeon while I was at work. She let me know that I had cancer of the lymph nodes and I should probably get health insurance (I had none).

I remember that day very well because D and I were supposed to take a much needed min-trip out to Iowa of all places for the Thaw film festival. I didn�t know how to have cancer and I thought I would have to go to the hospital within the hour so we cancelled the trip. At breakfast today I told D how much I wish we would have just gone. Doctors should give you more info about cancer. No one in the health profession realizes that the average person gets their cancer info from television, movies and watching old relatives die.

Yeah, so I ended up not even going to see a doctor for another full week to get the offensive node removed. We could have gone on the trip. That�s why one of my main new years resolutions is to travel more. Even if it�s to Ohio.

Another resolution is to keep the nodes in check. I also have resolved to write more letters and be nicer to my mother.

2002. I won�t be sad to see it go. Strangely I don�t think I would give back the past years experiences no matter how awful. I have seen sides of life and the human condition that others can only observe. That and I guess I can�t imagine what my life would be like now anyway.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!