Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2003-11-03

1:28 p.m.

After lasts weeks �festival of internecine feuding� I knew better than to show up late for work. I rushed around this morning and skipped hair product number two just to get in on time only to participate in a vapid meeting with my (not-so)supervisor.

I took the seat directly across from her only because I have heard her say before that there is psychology in where people sit for meetings. Taking a seat directly across from a supervisor means you are confrontational. Sitting to her right means you are an ass kisser or as she would say �supportive�.

Like Madonna adapting to her new overseas surroundings, my supervisor has developed a new accent. It�s as if she has soaked up a new dialect from each person stepped on during her climb up the university ladder or something.

Right now she talks with her mouth mostly closed and as if she finds everything ridiculously simple. Ya�ll know the tone. Except she also kinda sounds like she is from Philly now. And I am certain everything is not ridiculously simple for her because I know for a fact that she is completely incompetent at several email and phone functions. So I just have no respect for her or how she orders more meetings at meetings. That is how it ended today. Another meeting scheduled to discuss how this one went. What a flake.

I ate at McDonalds for lunch. S and I discussed the outrageous low pay and stressful work of a graduate student. I comforted myself with french fries and thinking about how I should go to cosmetology school in the winter. That license is just about guaranteed work unlike a master�s degree.

Who am I kidding? I don�t want to work any more. And really, Dr. G � you may have told us that our experiences here for our assistantships are giving us �real-life� experience and teaching us how to deal with difficult people but I don�t want a damn thing to do with either one of those things.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!