Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2003-06-15

1:18 p.m.

It�s father�s day. I just got back from the drug store to peruse the picked over card section. It was crowded and desperate. I don�t believe (whatever that means) in the whole greeting card exchange aspect of holidays but I participate because I think it signifies something to my family. Something like I still have one foot in mainstream culture. I recognize that the greeting card is a standardized acknowledgement. It�s foolproof really so I should be grateful for these hallmark holidays. Hard to mess up.

I ended up getting my dad a card with the Rock on it. The professional wrestler The Rock. He isn�t a fan or anything but the selection was slim and I can�t get those cards with earthtone watercolor paintings of fishing tackle baskets and long �A Father Is..� poems. My dad doesn�t like that stuff either.

A woman standing next to me would huff every time she read one of the touchy feely cards and then she would cram it in back into anyol slot. I think she was upset about her father. She should have just got him a snoopy one instead of trying to let the greeting card tell her father how she feels.

If I were to tell my father how I feel this fine afternoon I would tell him I feel a bit hung over thank you very much. I broke my all time post treatment party record and stayed out until 3am last night. I saw some old pals and some spacerock. It was fun.

Now I am off to sit outside since it almost actually kinda looks like summertime here. For the first time in idontevenknowwhen. It�s like 80 degrees, dog!

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!