Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2003-04-09

3:42 p.m.

Sweet sunshine friend of mine. All that snow has melted to make way for a beautiful Wednesday afternoon. Too bad I am in a tan cubicle.

It was just about right here a year ago today (well actually tomorrow but it was a Wednesday) when I got the �You have cancer of the lymph node� phone call. Yep, right here at work around exactly this time. In a tan cubicle. I remember calling S at work and having her meet me and we walked to a crappy old party store to buy cigarettes (I had quit for a whole year). Fucking strange.

Funny thing is that I just made a coffee break date for four o�clock today with her. I didn�t even think about the timing. The meeting tradition is fine. As long as I don�t get bad news as well. Not a chance really � I saw my rad onc today and he didn�t have much to say while he poked my nodes. He�s a new doc. Nice guy, I miss ol� Doctor C though.

A fucking year has gone by. I spent all of the next two months after that phone call (that would be all of Arpil and May) in a state of constant panic. I feel positively restful in comparison today. And that isn�t saying much I tell ya.

A fucking year! Chemo, radiation and health insurance and I�ve got my hair back. In fact, I need a hair cut � I called for an appointment earlier today.

How long does it take to get Hodgkin�s stage IIA, get chemo and radiation treatment and recover to the point of fashionable hair and reasonably stable social mood? About a year.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!