Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2003-03-21

12:15 p.m.

Up from a nap -- I got up at 6:45 this morning to get my CT scan. When I got there I was C#$-Blocked by the stern receptionist lady. She informed me that my doctor had circled the wrong section � it said chest �x-ray� and not �chest CT� and that I would have to wait until she could see what �we could do�. Never mind that I�ve had four other chest CT�s since oh, I had cancer last year. Forget that the diagnosis code said �Hodgkin�s�.

�This is like a legal document,� the stout woman held up the xeroxed test order with my doctors sloppy-ass ball-point pen circles on it.

I could see that she was gripping onto her bit of authority with the last bits of her sausage fingers so I resorted to swearing (hey-it was early � I was fully aware that didn�t help the situation) and then went to wait with a four-month old issue of Vogue while she paged my doctor at 7am.

He wasn�t there. I�ll have to reschedule.

G-Damn � I should have taken my ballpoint to that freaking order before I stepped in the office. Instead I had to deal with the frustration of a paper-pusher making a medical decision for me.

Ya know, it�s something different every freaking time I get a scan or test or see a doctor.

Usually my problems have to do with women in rayon at reception desks. I�ve been a receptionist before but I was comfortable in my powerless position so I didn�t try to flex on peeps. Hospital staff really like to do that shit. They assure themselves under the guise of regulations and �legal documents� but I know what�s up. I know all about the desk job. The middle management.

If they weren�t working the appointment center causing people with cancer even more inconvenience, they would be at a retail job refusing to hand punch in credit card numbers, or rejecting returns or carding people at every opportunity.

I am not rescheduling my scan until later � later. I hope my scan boycott really hits the hospital where it hurts. Right in the pocketbook. HA! See how powerless patients are?

The patient lifestyle -- Mental anguish! I am done suffering. So I will spend the rest of the day celebrating the fat that I got out of chugging the barium!

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!