Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2003-01-22

10:08 p.m.

I�ve listened to pro-life rhetoric all week and I�m still not impressed � I even gave an �academic-ish writer� on NPR a chance because I was curious to hear the academic pro-life argument. I mean, I�ve really only been exposed to the same bible-thumping self-righteous woman-hating argument. And I can say after hearing this writer's discussion that it�s not a whole lot different. When you have to start each argument with �Any reasonable logical person can see that...� your case is so weak you have to include a personal insult in order to make people feel like they should agree.

Yesterday on �The View� a B-List actress, Jennifer O�Neil, came on to spread the word about the horror of abortion. I was glad to see that the ladies let her speak while at the same time questioned her facts and statements. At one point the actress said that women who have had an abortion have a 30% higher chance of having cancer. Unfortunately no one asked her what the fuck she was talking about. Since when did outpatient surgery cause cell mutation and cancer? Part of pro-life rhetorical strategy is to put out false facts that use such strong language (like �cancer�) so that even when the statement is corrected the initial impact is still in the listeners mind. It�s so creepy.

To top it all off I hear George W, the same man who is about to orchestrate a preemptive strike on Iraq, addressing the pro-life demonstrators with support saying something about every child having a right to be born. I remember during his campaign the same man, then governor, stood strongly in justification of the huge number of people executed by the state of Texas.

I�ve heard more than I care to write about. I am still at the same conclusion. Pro-lifers are nothing but people who, probably because of some repressive religious/abusive upbringing, would rather focus on wombs unknown and the continuing oppression of women than the reality of pressing social issues like health care and education for the millions of children who are already on earth. But I�m sure the pro-life demonstrators were in DC already from the anti-war demonstration a few days ago, right?

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!