Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-12-08

11:49 a.m.

I am going to try to update without mentioning school or my paper. Ooops.

I actually went out on the town last night despite my scholastic commitments.

I hadn�t seen T since right after my diagnosis. She won wristbands to the gallery crawl for Noel Night and asked if I wanted to tag along. We ended up only seeing the art that was on the walls of some local bars. The gallery crawl started far too early and the shuttle system was downright confusing. My tolerance is so low I paced myself at half a drink to T�s two. But as the night went on I�m not sure her tolerance was so tuff either.

I ran into people I hadn�t seen in ages. Still garage rockin� in the D. Some of them asked if I was �back in the city.� I�m not quite ready to be mutilated in my own apartment by another fresh parolee who needs a snack so, no I�ll stay in the burbs. Many people asked about my hair. �It�s so short!� They�d say and I got to use my favorite reply, �Yeah, it fell out.� To which I have yet to get an inquiring response.

I then went to T�s b-friends party in rivertown � a special expensive part of the city with high-rise beautiful old apartments that look over the sprawl of Churches Chicken and wireless phone and check cashing stores nearby. This is where the well off artists with advertising and/or paying jobs live. I like to think of it as where the artsy type who think the desolation of the city is a fun and raw quirk live. They view it as a playground. This notion was confirmed when I saw J�s photographic (art)work on the living room walls � one of the photos was a �poignant� picture of yes, a homeless man. Was this to remind me I should be happy I am standing in an apartment that my parents couldn�t afford? Or was it cute because the man had a sign that said something about Jesus? What a goof! Jesus isn�t going to help him!

Besides all the issues that whole �homeless man as art� scene brings up - I wasn�t a huge fan of the unfriendly crowd. Lots of bought fashion. Anyway, I enjoyed chatting it up with T. I spent sometime trying to get some audio of the various party conversations. I guess most people don�t like to be recorded.

I am glad I went out. I feel bad that only a glass of wine made me forget about J�s ballet performance at one of the noel nightspots. I feel super guilty about that. And creeped-out and strangely jealous of the art people with money, fresh denim, and gumption to take pictures of homeless people and think they are profound. Maybe I�m not glad I went out. Apparently it stirs up more emotions than a shrink session.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!