Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-11-02

11:29 p.m.

The highlight of my weekend this far is my film intake.

Yesterday I saw �Bowling For Columbine� and thought I should consider moving to Canada. I have always thought it was a nice place to visit. I never knew that there is that many gun owners in Canada. The film raises the question of why exactly do Americans kill each other with guns when other countries with comparable gun ownership (such as Canada) have very low (under 100 per year) gun death rates? Why? Don�t ask Charlton Heston.

The film also makes a case for Mr. Moore to just get his own TV show. This film in particular was meandering and dense and should be delivered in three television segments.

I watched �Hollywood Ending� this afternoon. Slightly less political than the live surveillance footage from the Columbine Massacre narrated with Michael Moore�s personal thoughts. D told me Woody Allen is washed up. But then again he had asked me earlier if Woody had dumped Mia Farrow yet so that tells me how much he knows. I thought the film was ok. I was knitting the whole time anyway.

And lastly, we just got back from seeing �Punch-Drunk Love� in a very crowded Uptown Birmingham Theater. I thought the film was far better than the three stars (outta five) awarded by our local critic. D didn�t care much for the ending but I was so pleased to be taken into the creepy mood of Adam Sandler�s character I felt the ending didn�t matter much. It�s a good movie. I heard a few interesting comments on our way out about it having no plot and it being a waste of time. I disagree but I had to get D out of the theater because he had already started a scuffle with some fifty-somethings behind us. He had to politely suggest that they use their �indoor voice� no wait I think he said �cinema voice� during the show.

Theatergoers are so crazy rude these days.

I ran into my nurse from Beaumont Radiation Oncology after the show. I couldn�t believe it. It seemed so odd to see a real live nurse out looking at magazines in a Tower Records. I thought they all went to a radiation decompression half-life reviver chamber at night. She asked about my video footage and told me that after I left a few other ladies brought in their family members and cameras to their treatment. I guess I inspired them to document their treatment and share it with their family. That is so cool. I�ll bet I even know which lady it was.

Hopefully my �Fun With Cancer and Other Things� video will be as inspiring. I miss those ladies.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!