Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-10-10

12:59 p.m.

Gross.

Port removal was funky. It was done under a local anesthetic, which means no pain just a bunch of nasty tugging. Dr K was chatty and we talked about Lance Armstrong while he cauterized my veins. And yes, it did smell like burning flesh and blood.

I could barely lie still. It didn�t help that the heat from the cauterizer thingy was making my shoulder muscle twitch uncontrollably. I am not sure if that was normal. I am kind of twitchy anyway.

Just when I thought I would make myself sick by thinking about what was really going on (I was being cut open�yuck) it was over.

I only half-assed asked to keep the port � I should have been more insistent. I have no idea what I would have done with it but after my opportunity to ask the doctor was over the nurse told me that people sometimes make jewelry out of it. I had a twinge of regret even though I would never wear a medaport medallion. She did let me snap a few pics:

When I saw how long the tube was and just how big, blue, and metal the whole contraption appeared to be I knew why I had so many problems. That thing could obstruct blood flow in an elephant.

S was such a dove to get up so damned early to go with me to my radiation and surgery appointment. I�m sure she is going to be happy when we don�t party at hospitals anymore. We used to be so wild and crazy.

Those are all the details I can muster � I�m tired for a change. Must nap.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!