Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-10-02

1:27 p.m.

On my way home from my first radiation appointment I drove by the mechanics to see my little car. The little golf was finally in the garage on that high-lift thing. So I am thinking that unless it takes days to put a new timing belt in I should have her back tomorrow!

The first treatment was uneventful. Radiation is SO different compared to chemo. I just laid down on a stiff table with my arms up over my head in my custom made mold while a machine buzzed around me. When I got chemo I would immediately feel like absolute crap. I think these rads could take awhile to have an effect. Even then, it can�t compare to chemo�s effects.

The technicians for the radiation treatment room were likeable. They had decorated the place with plastic cobwebs and foil spiders. Nice touch.

While I was lying around during the set up I could see the reflection of the red laser beams and an area on my chest lit up. I noticed that the projected radiation field looked a lot like upside-down Rhode Island. No coincidence since I vacationed there this summer.

I tried to chat it up with some of the ladies in the ladies dressing room. We all have daily appointments at the same time so I figured I should just get to know them now. They were talking about how many people are getting cancer. One was convinced it was the air around this part of Michigan. That could be but I don�t see many chicks my age with cancer from breathing the air. Maybe it�s a slow process. I was planning on moving after graduation anyway.

People are always trying to guess what causes cancer. I have no idea. We know that smoking does but people do it anyway so I�m not so sure if I would have known what to do to prevent Hodgkin�s that I would have done it. Unless it was avoiding brussel sprouts or drinking engine oil or something.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!