Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-10-01

3:41 p.m.

My head bonk is tender today. I had to gently comb over my 32 hairs left on the top of my head. I am starting to worry that my hair isn�t going to stop falling out. Like some cruel joke � even though I finished chemo over two weeks ago the rest of my hair will fall out in solidarity with those strands that bailed months ago from the toxins.

Today was far too stressful and I haven�t even been to class yet. The rad onc, Dr C called to tell me that I shouldn�t get my port out during treatment. She is telling me this even though I brought it up nearly a month ago and got the ok from her nurse. Instead of just apologizing, she told me that I didn�t ask the right questions. She also said I am a "consumer" that should be asking specific questions. Like I�m the fucking medical professional. Piss off Dr C. I may be a consumer but with shitty insurance and oh yeah, CANCER I don�t have a whole lot of time and options not to mention I�m fresh out of energy to recheck every nuance of medical advice.

If medical patients were truly "consumers" Club Beaumont and the rest of these half-ass hospitals that had a brief moment in the spotlight for US News and World Report�s "Best Hospitals" issue just because they have a PET scanner and a noted urologist on staff would be outta business as far as I�m concerned.

I am fed up with egomaniacal doctors lacking in people skills to such a degree they could be replaced with droids without notice and dim-wit power-hungry nurses that deliver advice like it came straight from the mouth of the Christ child.

Since this port has caused me more problems than it�s worth and my arm is still numb at times and since I have a HMO and I don�t have the gumption to go through completing another assy referral process for the surgery I am going against medical advice and having the outpatient surgery during my radiation treatment. I am feeling rebellious and unfortunately only semi-confident.

Ok, I might just be cranky. A new timing belt for my broke down car is going to cost me and how does one get rid of canker sores?

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!