Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-09-29

1:51 p.m.

I have successfully tired myself out beyond all belief. To top it off � I just polished off some very serious pancake soup (I use enough syrup to call it that) and I am feeling a little weighted down. So much for catching up on the school related-reading I should have been doing all weekend.

At least I spent a majority of the weekend walking around for charity. Our Light the Night team � The B&S Battle Stars � raised an enormous amount of money.

The LTN walk was on Friday. We had so many people on our team I could barely keep up with everyone. Luckily B is an expert on making the rounds so she made everyone feel welcome while I lurked around mostly with the people I knew. The walk went all the way over to Woodward, which was very busy on a Friday night. Walkers were given balloons with lil� tiny flashlight thing in them that made them light up. Survivors got to carry white balloons. Unfortunately all the white balloons were not filled up properly so they were kind of droopy. B and I tried to hold ours above our head for a while but got tired of that and just let them flop around and hit people on their heads behind us.

Our team was easily identified by our galactic Battle Star glow necklaces. When we got home from the walk D had himself a real laugh riot and wrapped big ol� Pheobs up in a few necklaces and watched her run around in the dark.

On Saturday I met my mom to walk the 2.5 miles for Gilda�s Club. This walk was fun because we actually got to the front and were able to walk fast. Walking 3 miles at someone else�s pace is not fun or easy on the legs.

Both the walks had all kinds of entertainment and refreshments. Lots of free bananas.

Gilda's walk had an accordion player/drummer duet along the walk. The Light the Night walk was �kicked off� with the official Light the Night song sung by a woman in patterned overalls and accompanied by a guitar player in a vest.

I wonder what kind of fun an indie rock charity walk or event would be. I might organize one � I�ll call it �Corduroy for Cancer.� I tried to convince B that our LTN team name should be �Hard Rock Chicks Against Rock Hard Nodes� but she thought it was too weird because other teams were named �Joe�s Team� or whatever. I was just trying to put a little spunk in the whole ordeal. I�ll keep my creative rocker names and use them only where they are appreciated. Like on an online diary or something.

Lastly, I am completely whooped since D and I celebrated his 32nd birthday at the world greatest amusement park Cedar Point. We took advantage of the Twilite Special and ran around the park in the cool autumn weather until the place shut down on us. The park is all goblined and ghouled out for Halloween and they were blowing fake fog all over the park. By midnight with half the lights off in the park, we could barely find our way out � spooky!

The two hour drive that wasn�t so bad on the way to the Amazement Park was H-E-Double-Hockey-Sticks on the way home at 1am. Now we are both suffering and I would rather read the New York Times online than start on that damned reading.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!