Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-09-10

2:27 p.m.

Why am I so cranky about all this cheeseball 9-11 bullroar? I should let people remember and grieve as they wish. I guess the problem is that no one will let me do the same � I can�t even try to get some fucking real news off the normally reasonable and objective local NPR station without hearing some sappy shit about the "Terrorist Attacks" on America.

I have decided to declare a personal media blackout for myself tomorrow. I might have to listen to CJAM for a music fix� but that is safe � it�s Canadian.

I wonder what would happen if there was this much media coverage of "Insurance Companies Attack on Sick People" or "Congress� Negligence of the Uninsured" or what if the media covered those greedy CEOs from Enron, Arthur Anderson or WorldCom as they did Al Qaeda? Shit � working people might actually have a real cause to direct their energy instead of blind patriotism. Instead of organizing candlelight vigils people would be organizing a social revolution. For now we are treated to 9-11 action figures and shitty video montages whether we like it or not.

While I am on my politico rampage I would like to make a comment on college radio. I love it. Up until a few years ago a gal had to be driving a block away to actually get WHFR in on a radio. Now college radio stations can broadcast live to the universe via the internet. It is a great service to the public to be able to tune in some kooky college students "death metal hour" while they work in their homes, cubicles and whatnot.

Now, I have been busy with cancer lately for the most part so I only caught the tail end of a certain news show. I don't know all the details - It was about how many college radio stations are being forced to shut down their internet broadcasts due to new regulations that require fees for playing certain content.

This is an outrage � I found some more info:

here&

here&

here.

People can have their bawling bald eagles � if I light a candle tomorrow it will be under a congressman's ass for free information, music and health insurance for all!!

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!