Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-09-06

5:48 p.m.

I went to my weekly blood draw this morning. I despise waiting back in �The Lab� because flaccid tourniquets draped over the arms of those metal and burgandy plastic chairs grosses me out. I also don�t like trying to find things to look at other than the people getting poked in front of me. My eyes are drawn to the needle and blood even though it's rude and unpleasant.

Today a woman in a lopsided turquoise terry-cloth hat barely covering her baby-bald head went on and on to the tech about how she had the West Nile Virus. This interested me because I like to self-diagnose from time to time but I really like the people that take off with it and Ms Turq Hat was sailing away.

I did want to tell the poor older lady that she didn�t have West Nile � she was just experiencing chemotherapy.

I was nervous during my whole wait because the crappy blood tech was there and I knew I was in for some pain. She didn't do so bad.

I then had to convince yet another nurse, who likely has never had cancer or chemo or her arm stuck and sucked weekly, that my anti-nausea drugs were not working. I spent last treatment barfing. I made a few suggestions such as dosing up earlier with zofran. She shook her head �I don�t think that would work.� She was basing this not on medical training or research or pharmaceutical knowledge but on her personal opinion about anti-nausea drugs she has never taken. And she wanted me to let it go � I was just going to be barfing � she didn�t think my idea would work and was fresh out of anything constructive to add. I am finding this current trend in nurses making up information and presenting it as if it were medical fact quite annoying. Really, they should just say �I don�t know, I�m trained to administer treatment and carry out doctor�s orders, not to give medical advice so I�ll ask the doctor about that��

I was told by other cancer patients that it is the nurses who have the inside scoop on treatment and managing side effects because they are the ones that actually administer the chemo daily. I was told they would be my lifeline in getting through treatment. If you ask me, they are a honkin� road bump.

After a little back and forth miss nurse went to speak with Dr B. She came back ten minutes later with a new prescription and new plan of action for my next chemo. It�s a struggle every time.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!