Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-09-05

11:31 p.m.

Someone signed my guest book and tipped me off to Blondefox�s Diary here in diaryland. And I hope that person knows how cool that was to do. Seriously, I don�t know if people can understand how much it means being able to read about someone going through the same thing (Hodgkin�s for us chicks) and it just so happens that her diary is witty and serious and candid and fresh and stuff.

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society has a program that hooks patients who have been through the ringer - I mean treatment � with newly diagnosed patients. I remember when I finally got to talk to someone � J from Massachusetts � I finally got the real scoop on what was going on and what was going to happen. I had only heard from the doctors for the first few weeks of diagnosis and they are so used to assigning harsh treatment programs they can�t ever act in any proper way to help your confusion. Up until talking to J I only envisioned chemo as a barf fest through bad movie experiences and I thought cancer at a young age was a death sentence. I recall asking her if chemo sucked and her not being able to find the words to explain. That made me nervous.

I wonder if I would be any good at easing the minds of the newly diagnosed. I could hear myself shouting, �well, sorry about the Hodgkin�s � forget about crapping for the next four months!� I would advise patients to purchase a swimming nose plug and some black market opiate drugs if they really wanted to make it through treatment with the least amount of discomfort.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!