Newest

Older

About Me

Email Me

Diaryland

2002-09-04

3:56 p.m.

Occasionally I will complain to my non-cancerous friends, the ones who haven�t been to the doctor in ages, about health insurance. The new response seems to be "Have you seen John Q?"

Well, no I haven�t seen "John Q" but I understand that it is about a heart transplant and someone cutting off someone�s insurance. I would use the hostage and gun method if things got that bad but for now I am concerned about the slow scratchy irritation of HMOs. I want to complain about the paper and phone dance I must perform on a regular basis.

B and I spent nearly an hour on an HMO tirade yesterday. I am so tired of getting referrals ahead of time for each instance someone in a health building touches me and then receiving a bill in the mail anyway and then having to call up the hospital/dr office/insurance company, wait on hold for a half hour and tell them that they haven�t done their job and still getting a notice in the mail months later that starts the cycle all over again. Sometimes I even get a little fresh-mouthed sumthin� who likes to give me a hard time about the huge tab I�m running up. I had one let me know that I had a LOT of charges as if I have been overspending on my CT scans or something. Maybe Blue Care Network can hire me. I could perform the task of entering numbers before a specified date and I am fucking pleasant.

This insurance business is going to send my cancer spinning � I�ll never get rid of it if I can�t relax. I can feel the Reed-Sternberg cells rapidly reproducing as I type. Shame on this nation for not having national health care. I know people cry "well who�s is going to pay for it?" as if we couldn�t shave off a few bucks from corporate welfare or congressional golf trips. Besides, it�s not like if I didn�t have insurance I would be paying the forty thousand dollars for treatment so far (accurate total believe it or not). I�ve already told myself if insurance doesn�t cover something I�ll tell the hospital I�ll send them $4.50 a month for the next 80 years. But B told me that�s even too much and she isn�t paying a dime. She�s tough.

Shouldn�t modern medicine be treated as public information that is shared and not only available to those with insurance or the patience to actually utilize their insurance? Scientific advancements belong to the people damnit.

huh? - 2004-01-15
resolutions - 2004-01-09
video reason - 2003-12-30
sik - 2003-12-06
voiceless - 2003-11-19

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!